When did Microsoft become the innovative one?

Lurchorama

Oct 3, 2013
Visit site
That might sound like a bit of a derogatory title; but bare with me for a sec...

I've been a Windows Admin for a fair chunk of time. I cut my teeth on NT4 and got serious with the intro of Win2k.
But even back then, Windows was never 'cool'. The hard-core geeks where fiddling already with Linux and all the multimedia guys were already on Mac. But at home we ran our Windows machines because it was the only thing that had games.
Win2K didn't play the games well, so by the time XP came out we were well and truly over our 98SE machines. (We dont talk about Win ME). Windows XP was a good, solid OS.
But then MS went all hit and miss.
Vista was a complete nightmare (thank god MS kept the support up for XP), then Win7 came out and all was right with the world again. But Apple had made some serious in roads in the 'cool' factor and the world had discovered Android. So Win7 was good - but never cool.
Then Win8 first hit the shelves and a lot of us went 'WTF?'. I still dont think it works well on machines without touch, but the main killer was that it was such a huge change. Even for us who 'know what they're doing' looked at it and it made no sense.

But slowly but surely, thanks to some slick marketing, and great devices from both MS and other makers (eg: My wifes Asus VivoBook is spectacular) it started to make sense. Add onto this the partnership and then the buyout with/of Nokia. Then MS had a platform being produced on what it arguably the best built phones on the market. Putting the app support to one side for a sec; MS went out on a limb to completely change the idea of how a phone/touch interface should work and then bring it to the desktop and tablet and soon the game console.

Over the last year, I think, a lot of people have started to go from 'WTF?' to 'Ahh, now i get it'.
Its been a slow burn.

Thats great for MS; but what about everyone else?