I'm on verizon, get Icon or wait for 8.1 phones?

tacroy

Feb 27, 2014
Visit site
Heya,
So I'm new to the whole WP world. I've been waiting for an excuse to switch over for a while now. The icon looks pretty awesome, but I'm hearing rumors that it's going to be outdated quickly because at MWC or Build Microsoft will likely introduce a new line of phones, all built for 8.1 (no hardware keys, etc)

Whats the general thoughts? I've waited on getting a new phone for a long time, so a few months isn't a big deal and I'd HATE to have it be superseded so quickly . But I know that Verizon tends to really lag on WP so should I jump in now?

Thanks!

Curtieson

Jul 26, 2011
Visit site
I try to break it down by thinking: "what could a phone have that would cause me regret with my purchase?"

Would the next phone (930?) have a way better screen? Way better built in wireless? Better software features? Faster LTE? Faster NFC? Better camera? Thinner?
-My first thought is "no" to nearly all of those. maybe thinner though.

You mention the on screen buttons...if that is something that would cause you regrets for the next two years the answer is obvious. I don't think I'd mind.

TheJoester09

Mar 16, 2012
Visit site
Judging by the release schedules of past phones, I highly doubt that Verizon will get a new phone specifically for 8.1. Besides, the new 8.1 hardware will likely have roughly the same specs as the Icon, and the Icon will be able to update to 8.1 with no problem.

aximtreo

Jul 14, 2008
Visit site
I think Nokia may have answered your question for you. I've read in the past couple of days that they will Re-Release the 1520 on AT&T when the 8.1 is announced as a new Green colored 8.1 phone.

To me that says that they consider the newest WP phones as 8.1 phones. It also says to me that the next series of WP 8.1 phones are probably qued to be released later this year.

Go for the ICON.

Garrymp

Feb 27, 2014
Visit site