Active Stylus becoming standard for Windows?

bilzkh

Aug 10, 2011
Visit site
It's no secret that the active digitizer-based stylus is an important part of Windows tablet history. In the old days it seemed digital inking and writing was pushed by Microsoft as a selling point for its original tablet-PC. When Windows 8 was introduced with its multi-touch focus, the active digitizer managed to come through with the Surface Pro and a number of devices from Sony, Samsung and Asus.

While Windows 8 tablets (including Surface) didn't sell the world on fire, it seemed the market sort-of associated the active stylus with Windows-based tablets, especially the Surface Pro. For a number of us using the Surface Pro, the pen was a major pull.

I take a lot of hand-written notes at work and now at school, and being able to bind *all* of my notes -- hand-written and typed -- into one thing (which is stored on the cloud no less) was a dream come to life. As an economics undergrad I can't tell you how much I lament on not having the Surface Pro to help me draw graphs, write equations and type text block notes. A lot of Surface Pro users have had similar experiences, so the pen is an indispensable part of our routine.

Anyways, I'm sure a lot of people came across the question (by either asking or answering) regarding the Surface RT's capacity to take on digital inking. The answer's obvious, but it seems OEMs managed to sense some demand in the market for "affordable Windows tablets with active pens."