Piracy in Windows

Status
Not open for further replies.

tgp

Dec 1, 2012
Visit site
I doubt many here would save up to spend $1430 on a Windows license.

I know I wouldn't! I'm not a big Linux fan, but at prices like that I'd become one real quick!

Just something to throw out here; what would happen if a software company, Microsoft for example, would go after someone in a country with a lower average income. How would the user pay the fine? What would be the point of chasing them down? To make them stop using Windows? Now, I'm not condoning pirating in any way. I too believe it's not right. But in real life the chances of someone like that being prosecuted are slim to none.

Chregu

Feb 14, 2012
Visit site
In Switzerland download of music and movies is allowed for personal use. Upload is however illegal.

I don't download music as I have a Spotify Premium subscription, I do however download movies from times to times (but I also go to the cinema often).

Downloading software is illegal, and I buy all my software anyway (except the software my university paid for).

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
I know I wouldn't! I'm not a big Linux fan, but at prices like that I'd become one real quick

Exactly. I'd say the same. We can preach about morality as much as we want. At the end of the day we need a realistic solution that works. We all know that telling U.S. citizens to save up 1430.- for a Windows license wouldn't have a snowball's chance in hell of working. Expecting others to do that introduces a double standard. That is not fair. Of course, piracy isn't the solution either.

So again, what is?

The prices for a Windows license in Bosnia seem very high to me. Could it be that government institutions and corporations pay more to MS for official licenses, as a way to compensate for widespread consumer level piracy?

Jazmac

Jun 20, 2011
Visit site
I'm from Bosnia&Herzegovina, but piracy is also allowed in Serbia, Croatia, Montenegro etc.