What WP needs to succeed

humzahyaz

Oct 6, 2015
Visit site
Microsoft's (frustrating) Windows Phone strategy

I have been using my Lumia 950 for over 6 months now. I was easily the first person in Pakistan to get my hands on it.

I was recently prompted by Microsoft to rate my device and that opened up a box of emotions. Obviously I love my Lumia 950 and I am not sure what phone I would be using if this was not available. I was using a Nokia Lumia 620 until October 2014 before a new employer imposed a Samsung Galaxy, Android phone on me. What a miserable year! I remember I couldn't sleep before the release of Lumia 950. I am generally quite stoic and had never waited for a device with this much excitement and anticipation. I absolutely love this phone. Even though it stops functioning on a few occasions and has a few glitches, for example, Hey Cortana feature never works, connectivity with band is horrendous. Only 10% of my voice commands through band are recognized. Nonetheless, the OS has so much potential, much greater than iOS and android. The windows phone platform always comes out with such nifty features, some of which are inevitably copied by competitors (like live images, quiet hours, cursor on the keyboard, live tiles, Rich Capture, Windows Hello).

However, I can't help but feel that the dismal numbers for windows phones is only down to Microsoft. This realisation has developed over a period of time and is not an epiphany. Some notable points to back my contention:

1. No proper phone release strategy - a flagship, followed by a year of tons of low end, budget phones, cancellation of Nokia McLaren leading to a long wait for flagships to a sudden cessation of Lumia range;