I think Windows Phone is Done!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kenneth Fossum

May 31, 2014
Visit site
I think each his own.
I am also debating whether or not to stay on. I guess I was expecting more from MS by now. Sure, I am one of those impatient ones, but that is just what it is for many of us. Since I work in the tech industry, I guess I am more interested in this stuff compared to average Joe and his wife. Which is fair enough. My Lumia 925 is showing its age (Dev preview with Cyan) and I would like to replace it. It's simply too slow for me after various updates and so on. The only option for me would be the 930, but I am looking at Android devices that are more tempting in terms of pure HW. Even the iPhone. But HW alone is not enough of course. I have invested deeply in the MS ecosystem, but since their services are actually better on Android and iOS (how sad is that - I used to be all Android, and I have an iPad, so I know..) I wouldn't actually lose much by going to a different platform.

I am no app buff, but it's sad to see the inactivity in the WP app store. It's sad to see how the WP apps are lacking compared to the iOS and Android siblings. It's sad to see that MS apparently fired their marketing people and forgot to hire new ones. If you're late to the party, at least make some fuss when you arrive. Don't sneak in the backdoor. It's sad to read about the carrier problem their facing in the US. No easy fix there I guess. But, even so, I guess I was expecting more activity from MS. A bit more of everything. More phones, more marketing, more fuss .... It's almost to the point where I would like to ring the doorbell at Redmond, open the door and shout 'Hello, anybody working here...?"