WP UI desperately needs refinement

Josip Zeljko

Feb 12, 2014
Visit site
I think we can all agree that metro (mostly) looks nice, in fact it was one of the main reasons why i switched to windows phone, but some things need to be changed. I'm no designer so don't expect to see some great design suggestions but I am an average user who notices some odd stuff here and there and I wanted to share it here.

(Live tiles are excluded from this - they're fantastic)

1. Wasted space in the app list. The app list looks ridiculous on big phones.
2. Bland look of some core apps (e-mail comes to mind). Is it so hard to add some color, or give an option to turn it on? It doesn't have to be so damn black and white. Colors can be useful, especially in noticing priority e-mail. It doesn't have to be over the top -just a tiny little pinch of color.
3. When I think about it, the whole UI needs some color. Going to settings just feels so sad...
4. Some apps have too big headers which just waste space. Maybe add an option that auto hides headers? For example - go to the marketplace, search for something. I dare you - do it! After you do the search there are 3 LINES of text (store search, search query, and the category). That thing doesn't go away. Wouldn't it be nice that it hides when I'm scrolling down (or when I'm doing nothing) and comes back when i scroll up?
5. Too long titles can't be seen. Once again I will ask you to do a search in the marketplace. Go to marketplace and search for Dead Earth. Tap on the game that is shown on the list. I dare you to read the whole title, or find the complete name of the game (no binging or googling please). Metrotube resolved this problem elegantly (tapping on the name shows the complete title).
The same thing happens in the app list.
6. The OS is called WINDOWS. I really hope that W10 will have multiwindow support (they've done it so nicely in the desktop metro verson)