Microsoft Outsmarts Apple Watch

Mike Majeski

May 28, 2014
Visit site
With so much doom and gloom making the boards these days, thought I'd share this one:

Microsoft outsmarts Apple Watch | America's Markets

Maybe the Band could be the thing that makes Microsoft look cool again to the masses. Just search "Microsoft Band" right now on bing and you'll see tons of articles praising Microsoft on the price, performance and battery life. (Two points from CNet though, who just had to reiterate their negative findings in November and incorrectly list the price at $300.)

I think the $10K gold Apple Watch will go down as one of the biggest marketing blunders of all time. While it was meant for an exclusive set of customers, it soured the opinion on the entire product line. Had Apple released the $349 first and later said, oh BTW we have an obnoxious $10K version too, the negative feedback wouldn't have been as bad.

I'm a tech fan first, and a Microsoft fan second, so I want all ventures to succeed. However, it is nice to see Apple screw the pooch for once.

jmshub

Apr 16, 2011
Visit site
It's far too soon to call the Apple watch a bust. One thing Apple fans like, and that's Apple products. Despite all the negative press now, this thing could still sell like gangbusters when it is launched.

theefman

Nov 14, 2008
Visit site
I imagine there'll be a lot of disappointed MS fans when this thing sell like hotcakes (like all apple products).

Mike Majeski

May 28, 2014
Visit site
It's far too soon to call the Apple watch a bust. One thing Apple fans like, and that's Apple products. Despite all the negative press now, this thing could still sell like gangbusters when it is launched.

Agree it will likely sell well. At the same time this is really the first time an Apple product is getting a ton of backlash before release. Usually it's hype city and then a let down after the release. OMG GIANT IPHONE!!!! Oh, it bends.