Joe Belfiore uses an iPhone

Status
Not open for further replies.

DrPuppy

Feb 28, 2015
Visit site
Part of design is getting a good idea of what the landscape looks like.
Think about how many features get "borrowed" from each phone manufacturer. Putting blinders on and ignoring the competition is a surefire way to get behind on trends. The more important thing here is that you can gather insight into how to make things better.
Remember how Satya had an iPhone during Build 2015 and it was all just MS apps on the main screen? There is a bit of platform agnosticism in the company now, and I think it's important going forward. It's like advertising on other OSes, and it really does get their name out there.

For a bit of personal perspective, I design electronics for a living (guitar pedals to be precise). Looking into what other people do and what does and doesn't work and what's popular and what's not is what my boss and I do first when designing. We talk and it over and see about how we can up our game and make something better than our competitors, something that offers differentiation. We familiarize ourselves with the landscape, and then we see how we can push things forward.

This is precisely what they have in mind when using devices like this. Plus, MS is a software company so of course they like to have their software everywhere.

FearL0rd

Jun 13, 2012
Visit site
1. yep
2. yep
3. nope...or maybe yes but no they wont because....windows 10 mobile is dead, Nadella dont want w10m as a Plattform
-> news pro, outlook, office, new translator etc etc
- any MS own app is first on competitor plattforms (of course much sooner on older devices)
- some big launch partners (see wechat) just jumped off cause they saw how MS is acting
- Nadella has cut down the Lumia variants so there is just low end and a soso high end, no mid class, no nothing
- Nadella said they go to the customers