Windows Phone rebrand: "Surface OS"

Zachary Boddy

Staff member
Aug 3, 2014
www.windowscentral.com
I've been working in marketing for many years. At this point I can assure all of you that "Windows Phone" as a brand has been severely compromised in the last few days aka "its dead" (the brand).

Microsoft has to come up with something different for the new Surface Phone. They can't just say it has "Windows Phone", because the name/brand is "dead".

So Microsoft needs a fresh start. Let's call it "The new Surface OS", a lite version of Windows 10, made for mobile phones, with support for both ARM and x86, runs full desktop apps when conected to a dock, runs UWP apps when in mobile mode.

The future is Surface OS and it really sounds much better.

Mmm...no.

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Re: Windows Phone rebrand: "Surface OS"

A reboot and a rename is the last thing this platform needs. We can't say it's the brand because right now, it's quality is the major issue regardless of its public image.

Also Surface OS sounds worse than Windows IMHO in that it's specific and throws out any continuity. it's like Apple going back to iPhone OS.

constantreader16

Jan 9, 2016
Visit site
We'll let's get things straight. Windows Phone as an OS is dead. The brand is dead. Windows Mobile is what we have now.

The only way a phone with a a full computer OS on it would become popular is if it is first released in emerging markets at a price point they can afford. It would be this ability that would catapult Windows Mobile in those markets. However, in our markets the idea of having a full computer OS on a phone is niche. Not many people will go out of their way to use it. It would come in 'handy' from time to time but that's it. Unless it has the same level of capabilities as a laptop it won't attract sales people or people in enterprise markets.

I don't see phones replacing computers in offices any time soon either as security is very important to IT professionals.