How Much is Riding on Andromeda?

justjun555

Dec 29, 2017
Visit site
So we will have Andromeda vs Galaxy X. Who will release first ;)

Andromeda. if rumors to be believed galaxy x pushed to 2019. Huawei is tipped to release foldable phone in 2018.
Both are going to be a different devices actually andromeda is a dual screen device like zte axon m. While Samsung is chasing true foldable phone with foldable display.

eshropshire

Jun 10, 2013
Visit site
So we will have Andromeda vs Galaxy X. Who will release first ;)

Who is to say they are not one in the same device. Samsung built device for MS to run Windows ARM and a Samsung phone running android. MS and Samsung seem to have a good relationship. MS these days are more into partnering with HW. I have no knowledge, but MS will have to get their fold able screens from someone in the screen business.

TechFreak1

May 15, 2013
Visit site
I disagree.

Consumers are hype and fad-chasing, high-risk and low-margin customers. Only if your business model relies primarily on high volume sales must you target consumers. Otherwise you'll be better off ignoring them.

IBM or SAP are two huge software corporations that have been around for a long time. Neither of them have cared about consumers in decades but they reliably generate huge profits and are absolutely sustainable. IMHO their existence proves software companies can get on just fine without consumers.

MS doesn't need consumers. Some of MS' offerings do however, foremost Windows and UWP.

MS has spent two decades restructuring Windows so it can run on a very wide range of hardware, large and small, from cloud server farms, to tablets, to gaming consoles and to IoT devices. That is a high-volume low-margin platform strategy that can't succeed without consumers. That represents at most 1/3 of MS' revenue however. Losing that would hurt, but it's no longer essential.