In my Outlook 2013(Desktop), why don't new emails arrive until I open the inbox?

Joshwin

Jan 31, 2015
Visit site
outlook 2013(Desktop):new mails don't arrive until I open the inbox?

I am new to outlook 2013.I am using it on a windows 8 laptop.I have added two accounts in it(Outlook&Gmail).In the beginning both worked fine.I was getting notification for new mails as soon as they arrived in both the mails.Now my outlook account works fine.but Gmail doesn't notify me when a new mail arrives.Only when my Windows Mail app shows notification i realize that i got a new mail.and when I open the inbox it syncs and all the mails come rushing in.I played with all the settings a bit to get acquainted with all the options,but i didn't change anything blindly,i just changed text,fonts themes.but I am not sure if i had disabled/changed something important or not.the notification,alert is on in the mail option,in my system settings,notification for office 2013 is on,I didn't change any notification settings what so ever.I believe that the settings in the "options" are common for both the mail accounts.Then why only my outlook mail receives mails immediately while my gmail doesn't?is there any settings that I have to check?please help me find a solution.I need flawless notification for both the mails without any delay or issues that just i mentioned.thank you.

hotphil

Nov 14, 2008
Visit site
Re: outlook 2013(Desktop):new mails don't arrive until I open the inbox?

First thoughts - In the email account settings, what type are you using for GMail (POP/IMAP/SMTP etc)? Is Work Offline inadvertently selected?