Using the surface as primary device

yaron zeevik

Apr 14, 2014
Visit site
Hey I'm a student and as a low budget mind I'm consider buying the surface 2 with the RT OS and use it as my primary computing device. My every day usage is mainly music, alot of web surfing and little office and one note workout. I thinking about plug it to my 25 HD LCD desktop computer while in home... What you saying do you recommend me to go for it?

Ohh and I have my Lumia 920 to sync with it

jimkraz

Jan 19, 2012
Visit site
If you don't mind not being able to install Windows software on it, then yes go ahead, I have both the original Surface Pro and the RT, I use my RT for office work and browsing, the Pro I have all sorts of software installed, Adobe Elements, Paintshop Pro among others, the battery life on the RT is better but I work with the Pro mainly at my desk. Jim

angusdegraosta

Jul 1, 2013
Visit site
No... though I also have a regular laptop, Surface 2 works fine for music, video, browsing, typing etc. It's solidly built and battery life is great.

azcruz

Jul 29, 2013
Visit site
My Surface does the the usual tasks you mentioned. It is my primary device. I use my Pro 2 for Visual Studio and Hyper-V.

Sent from my Windows Phone 8S by HTC using Tapatalk

WillysJeepMan

Aug 7, 2008
Visit site
Tnx for the help..do u feel the absence of the legacy software's support ?
For what you described, the Surface 2 should serve your needs. As for me, yes, I do feel the absence of legacy software support because of the continued lack of quality apps developed for Windows RT. I'd prefer NOT to use legacy Windows apps since they are not "touch-aware"... but even legacy apps are better than nothing.

CJ Thunder

Feb 16, 2011
Visit site
I'm in the same boat. I need something just for word and easy to carry...

But, I need plugins for some online classes... How is rt ie with that?

angusdegraosta

Jul 1, 2013
Visit site