Help - How to buy the Surface 3?

thatdennis

Dec 9, 2013
Visit site
So for background info, I'm attending the University of Richmond, Richmond, Virginia this fall (around August 14) and I'm an international student. I want to buy the Surface 3, but am confused with several scenarios on how to buy it:

- First scenario is should I pre-order my Surface 3 through Microsoft's website to my university? The downside with this choice is I need to wait a long time, and would probably be able to buy around end of August since I'm adjusting to my new life.

- Another scenario is where I pre-order a Surface 3 using and send it to my brother (who's studying in a different univ.) who's returning July 1st. Downside to this is it's complicated, as my parents need to send him money again and I'm not sure he would be careful with it (he's a messy guy).

- Third scenario would be when I'm transiting in Washington's Dulles International Airport to Richmond International Airport. I could take a taxi to the nearest Microsoft store and buy it there. Problem with this is that it's quite unlikely that I get enough time to get it, and am not sure I will transit at Washington DIA.

- Last scenario is when I've settled in my university, I'll travel to the nearest Microsoft store. Thing I hate about this is the nearest Microsoft store is about a 2 hour walk, and though I'm willing to go that far if no other choice persists, I'd try to avoid this hassle.

P.S. I would like to avoid taxi's, as they are quite expensive. I mean I can afford it, but I try to avoid it as I need the money to buy other items, such as hangers, bed linens, dorm stuff.

P.S.S. Would like to try Uber as it's half the rate of normal taxi's, but is it reliable (both the WP app and the driver)? Anyone has experience with it? Thanks!

hotphil

Nov 14, 2008
Visit site
My here is wherever I lay my hat. Currently Perth, Australia.
You should be able to find a retailer that will ship it internationally.