Surface Book 2 Benchmark & Other Issues

Mikeman

Jan 16, 2016
Visit site
Hello - I am new to the Surface Book 2 - I have a Surface Pro 4, i7 - 8GB, so i decided to upgrade. While in awe both over the specs (and price) of the Surface Book 2, i7, 1TB SSD - I don't understand what Microsoft is doing here with the whole processor and how it operates.

My questions are – (Many – please be patient with me)
I have installed and watched closely - the Intel Core i7 Turbo Boost monitor and I have observed that on occasion the processor will reach the 4.2GHz Threashold- So I know it works how it should. But when attempt to use ANY Benchmarking software – the processor doesn’t peak out anywhere close to 4.2GHz, it doesn’t even reach 3.0 – thus rendering me a lower than deserved CPU / Overall score. It’s not about the scoring, but rather Windows Utilizing all of the power attainable. I have changed the Power Scheme to “High Performance” as well. I of course also had the power cable plugged in and the battery was @100-99%. I’ve used CPUZ, CineBench & RealBanch – all with crappy scores.

Whenever I open the “System Properties” Windows has the processor listed as “Intel Core™ i7-8650OU CPU @ 1.90GHz – 2.11GHz” – On every machine I have built or utilized and checked (and can remember) – Windows has managed to get this correct ……Except with this machine. Why is this? I get that MicroSoft has throttled the processor, but isn’t this throttling only used during battery operation?