Digital artist's best choice? Book or Pro 4?

AaHaa

Oct 15, 2012
Visit site
All this time I've waited and refrained myself from buying a Surface Pro 3 and now I don't know what to choose. Who saw that coming, right?

I'm an illustrator/animator/game artist. Which device is better for me, the Surface Pro 4 or the Surface Book?

Few things to consider:
- We (our company) were originally planning to get me a Surface Pro 4 and a desktop PC for the heavier work. Surface Book would take away the need for such a PC, so it would cost us hundreds of dollars less.
- The Surface Pro 4, with it's kickstand, looks to be more comfortable to draw on. I think you'll only be able to draw on the Surface Book if you let it lean against something.
- The bulkier specs of the Book are nice, but not necessary. I'd be great for 3D modelling and stuff, but even my old Yoga 13 still runs Photoshop as a charm. Then again, the Book might be top of the line a bit longer than the Pro 4.

So, what would you guys do if you were me?

rhapdog

Retired Senior Ambassador
Aug 26, 2014
Visit site
I'd go for the book. The display not only detaches, but re-attaches in the other direction so that you can use the keyboard as a stand. If it is a stand you are needing, well, it's got that in the keyboard.

Not to mention, graphics power. You aren't going to match the graphics power of this thing with anything else that can be a laptop AND tablet.

The book is pure awesome.

Also, with the way this baby looks, with the clean "Mirrored Windows Logo" on the back, it will make people at the coffee shop sit up and take notice. It will be all like, "Hey, that's not an Apple on it, but it looks great! What is it? I've got to see this!" Then you can show them how it runs circles around any MacBook they have, and then pop it off and show how it also runs circles around the iPad Pro. Haha!