Why on earth is there no USB on screen !?

Dariusz1989

Oct 6, 2015
Visit site
The second I saw presentation and Book edition I was like... 16 gb, 512gb ssd. preorder- now.

Then I looked at screen and there is no USB driver on screen.

Why is there no usb drive on screen ? :(

I am a photographer. That travel and take pictures on the go. From a while now I wanted a tablet like device that would be light, can run for 10h in idle/active mode and help me check shoots on the go as I photograph.

The idea was to get surface Book, put it on my tripod, USB tether connect my DSLR to the surface and take pictures. Check them on the go on the set and move on - the book would have been perfect for it ! Except for the glossy screen why the on earth do u put glossy screen on professional devices?! We need matte darn it !

Get home connect keyboard and take advantage of extra power.

But I cant do it now because there is not even 1 USB on the book !!! Whyyyyyyyy Microsoft whyyyyyyyyyyyyy did u not put 1 damn USB on surface screennn...

Ehhh would be such an amazing device. Now I have to go with surface pro 4 :((( Or might as well go for cheapest surface 3/2 and save a buck :- /

Regards

Dariusz

astondg

Jan 7, 2013
Visit site
To do what you're describing the Surface Pro 4 sounds perfectly capable.

From Panos Panay's presentation it seemed that the reason there's no USB on the screen is because they wanted to make it thinner, he made a big deal about that being the limiting factor for the SP4's thickness.

Could a work around be using a wireless SD card in your DSLR, like the Eye-Fi, so you wouldn't need a physical USB connection?

ArtificiallyYours

Jul 12, 2015
Visit site
It's book-first, which means it more or less caters to people who treat the Tablet-Mode as secondary. But they didn't downplay the tablet mode capabilities at all and its a sexy beast of a McLaren. I myself would prefer to use its physical keyboard.

Cleavitt76

Jan 10, 2013
Visit site