what i do and do not like wh surface book

pdch

Sep 21, 2012
Visit site
So I picked up my 512gb i7 sfb today and want to give you guys my initial impressions. Just to set the table, i was REALLY looking forward to this thing - just so you know I am not some Apple ****** on here set up to criticize the device but instead an opinion from the standpoint of someone looking for what MS stated, "the ultimate laptop". My background is thus: I was an Aerospace Engineering major at UT in Austin in the 90s until the bottom fell out of the industry. I moved to Geophysics (after I lost my internship to JPL when they cut the entire program). This was the early 90s, and I was one of the first to work through NetWare networks all the way to modern networks. I actually helped pioneer the modern courtroom by introducing the use of electronic media and networks into court proceedings.

Oh, and I am doing this while on battery on the tablet!😁. So, here goes from the time I unpacked this thing:

The first thing I noticed is that this thing is packed VERY nicely. You don't have to worry about it being too beat up during shipping. Obviously, there is always a better ***** who can break it in shipping, but it would be a great challenge.

Once unpacked, I turned mine on. I didn't bother charging first because I wanted to see how much charge it shipped with. It had 33 percent battery on bat 1 and 28 percent on bat 2. I was able to go through the entire setup without plugging the thing in.

The first thing I noticed is that if you do not pick the option to setup a PIN, it will not allow you to setup windows hello until after you run updates. Just FYI, setup a pin on initial setup - and make sure you have your pen with you before you turn the thing on.

Also, I would obviously suggest you make sure it is plugged in before setting up, I was doing a more stressful test that I would not suggest to anyone.