Buy now or wait?

icwhatudidthere

Nov 7, 2012
Visit site
In the past few days, I've seen the base model drop to around $1178 at Walmart and Best Buy, though after the Surface Laptop announcement this morning, Best Buy raised the price back to $1499.

I'm wondering how long people think it'll be before the Surface Book is refreshed?

I'm not looking for the latest and greatest. In fact my use case for the Surface Book is simply that I want a lappable laptop, one that doesn't make my hands sweaty. The Surface Book is perfect since the processing is all in the tablet section, keeping the base cool.

Anyone think the base SB is worth it at $1178? Or have you seen it cheaper?

Thanks!

davidhk129

Dec 22, 2014
Visit site
I don't think Surface Laptop is going to be the " new sheriff in town".
It's not in the same class as Surface Book.

I would buy SB for $1178. But I am no expert.

Indistinguishable

Nov 16, 2012
Visit site
In the past few days, I've seen the base model drop to around $1178 at Walmart and Best Buy, though after the Surface Laptop announcement this morning, Best Buy raised the price back to $1499.

I'm wondering how long people think it'll be before the Surface Book is refreshed?

I'm not looking for the latest and greatest. In fact my use case for the Surface Book is simply that I want a lappable laptop, one that doesn't make my hands sweaty. The Surface Book is perfect since the processing is all in the tablet section, keeping the base cool.

Anyone think the base SB is worth it at $1178? Or have you seen it cheaper?

Thanks!

I just pulled the trigger on a Surface Book in the second hand market on Saturday. And man do I love this device!

I think it's still worth the purchase.