Surface Book: wait for shangai event or buy anyway ?

Dredd67

May 12, 2017
Visit site
Hi everyone ! I'm on the verge of buying a surface book and I was wondering if I should hope something from the Shanghai event ?

I've heard that Surface Pro 5 might be a thing there, but as an amateur photographer I think the Surface Book is still the most interesting tool for me.

libra89

Feb 6, 2015
Visit site
Since that event is around the corner, why not wait?

Or alternatively, you can buy now, try it out and debate if you want to return it or not later after said event. I just think because it's so close, you should wait.

BrianEmbry

Sep 5, 2016
Visit site
I am going to wait. See what is coming. I currently using a 2010 MacBook Pro which is excruciatingly slow to boot up but, after that it still works great.

Dredd67

May 12, 2017
Visit site
Moved to Surface Book section.

I just bought a Surface Book last week and I have no regrets. Wonderful device.

Sorry, thanks for cleaning up my mess...

I'll be replacing a 2012 retina Macbook Pro, so I can probably wait two more weeks. I was asking because I don't know if there's a point for me to wait as I'm french: here in France the performance base became available only very recently, so I expect new stuff from Microsoft will also take 6 months to reach us. Plus it's set in Shanghai, so I'm probably not the target...

Am I correct or has Microsoft completely changed its release strategy ? I think the surface laptop in which I'm not interested, is already available to preorder but only in specific configurations. I d'ont know, maybe I'm lost.

Anyways while I'm here, what configuration would you recommend for occasional photo editing (24 Mpixel raws, some photoshop portraits retouching and other stuff using Capture One for instance), some hand drawing if I find the device suitable enough, the other half of the time being used for note taking, web surfing and movie watching ?