Is the Surface Book 2 just TOO expensive?

psh_vt

May 8, 2017
Visit site
The simplest answer for me is -- would the cost keep me from buying it? And the answer is, no. I'm a college teacher and musician -- I use my computer for hours a day and don't want any compromises. There is no benefit for me to cut corners, get an under-performing computer that doesn't do what I need to save some money.

Mr_Armageddon

Oct 22, 2017
Visit site
The SB2 is missing a pretty big technological component when asking this much price wise. Yes it finally has USB Type-C, but its only USB 3, not Thunderbolt3. That puts it in a pretty huge disadvantage against other modern laptops (including the MacBooks) that can utilize an eGPU dock for a bump in graphic performance, increased IO connections + charging with a single cable. Yes it has a midrange laptop GPU, but that's still pretty anemic compared to what can be achieved with an eGPU enclosure with a Desktop grade GPU.
I was waiting for this announcement, but as it stands I just purchased a HP Spectre X360 15t (15", 8th Gen i7, 16GB, 512GB SSD, GTX 1050 GPU, Pen Support, Thunderbolt3) for $1600. Around $1000 cheaper AND works with my Desktop eGPU dock.
Maybe next year Microsoft...

Last edited:

blazewon22

Jan 12, 2016
Visit site
I think the 15" laptop at $3000 is comparable to gaming laptops/desktops with 1060 GPU cards. It's cheaper than a similar spec'd MacBook Pro with a more powerful GPU and can function as a 2 in 1. It also can replace an Xbox S with the specs for gaming. Let's not forget the VR.

With cell phones Cracking the $1000 mark I would say that double the price for a laptop is reasonable. You get a longer lifecycle and can do so much more on a PC.

I suspect most people will get the mid size versions of the 13 & 15".

wynand32

Jun 16, 2014
Visit site