Surface Pro 7 deal! Save big at Amazon right now

11-12-2019 09:12 AM
28 12
tools
    Although I have never used a device with 2 screens, I have seen some in the last few months and none of them comes even close to Surface Duo if we go by looks; it finally offers something new & fresh. So congratulation Microsoft!

But what breaks my heart is that it runs Android. I have been using L950 for the last 2 years and I understand the pain of not having apps.

Still I think it would have been awesome if it ran WCOS along with Live tiles & an Android emulator.
    Sedp23 likes this.
    10-03-2019 03:52 PM
    But what breaks my heart is that it runs Android. I have been using L950 for the last 2 years and I understand the pain of not having apps.
    So the main downsides with Android are the lag, the slow launch of apps, and the lack of coherency across the phone, everything is bolted on, even contacts are stored in different places depending on which app uses them, SMS can be handled by different apps but the messages end up in different places if you switch apps, downloaded files go to different areas depending on what app downloaded them. No overarching personal assistant that monitors everything.

Emulation of Android isn't going to fix this, although maybe you could integrate Cortana across everything. If you don't emulate Android then you have no apps. The world picked cheap and loose over quality, something that has happened many times in the past. This is the world we live in. Spare a thought for the poor deserted Amiga fans, many of whom have never gotten over their pain.
    10-03-2019 11:29 PM
    it's sad but there is no other option to counter app gap. android is not that bad now if you customize it by your on liking. let's hope Microsoft at least bring some modern touch with their android skin running surface duo.
    10-03-2019 11:56 PM
    So the main downsides with Android are the lag, the slow launch of apps