Surface RT as a Laptop Replacement

John Balacano

May 2, 2013
Visit site
Hi Guys just wanna ask I am planning to buy a new computer and considering the upcoming surface rt to replace my laptop I am just a student (you know just word processing and all that)
also wanna ask if surface rt can run flash based games for (example games on facebook)

Pete

Retired Moderator
Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
Yes, it should be able to run Flash games.

But, it's not a laptop replacement, it's a tablet.

If you buy one and then decide that you want to download and install a particular program, you'll run into problems. The only apps that will run on the tablet are those that you'll get through the Windows 8 App Store.

berty6294

Oct 5, 2012
Visit site
My Surface RT has definitely replaced my laptop. I don't even use my laptop anymore. if I need to run a legacy program i just remote in to my pc at home. And yes, flash goes work online. Some are a little slow, but they all work.

Pete

Retired Moderator
Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I'm the same. My ultrabook is hardly ever getting used these days.

But, I wouldn't use one as my only computer, I have my desktop PC for anything that requires some meat.

TheJoester09

Mar 16, 2012
Visit site
It depends on what you use it for. If you just want to play flash games and maybe do some homework in Word or Excel, then yes, it will replace your laptop. If you need something more advanced (like say Photoshop or InDesign) or if you do any medium to heavy gaming, then it definitely will not replace your laptop.

prlundberg

Jan 30, 2013
Visit site
I'm the same. My ultrabook is hardly ever getting used these days.

But, I wouldn't use one as my only computer, I have my desktop PC for anything that requires some meat.

Me too. It doesn't replace a home PC, but for most people it can easily replace a laptop for mobile use.