10-23-2013 09:43 PM
182 ... 678
tools
    @JKing106
    Your opening paragraph is condescending and presumptuous. You then tried to tell me what my thinking is.

I was just trying to explain pricing, not be a cheerleader or call you a troll. People seem to want to look at raw component costs when that is no where near the total cost to produce a product. I design products for a living; I see where the costs are. Just explaining that.

If MS prices like the cheapo tablet products they will lose money and be considered crap. Why go bottom feeding and leave money on the table while destroying your brandname? It won't help the platform in the long term. Making a good product will, and Microsoft is playing a long-game, like they always do. I do doubt that MS is getting Apple's margins on Surface.

My decision to buy a Surface or any other tablet or gadget will never make any rational, defensible financial sense anymore than my decision to buy Forza 4 did because it is just a want that doesn't serve a purpose other than being what I want; a luxury.
    Indeed, it's as Steve Jobs said so many years ago, "Apple doesn't care too much about building up marketshare. Our focus is on building great products that we can recommend to our family and friends, that we're proud to own. We'll try and make those premium products as affordable as we can, but we don't want to sell junk." Then, when Apple later unveiled things like the iPhone and iPad, that whole image of high quality and premium products really helped out. Say what you want about Apple, but they have one hell of a brand. At this point, they could literally sell crap and still make millions.