Surface 2 Predicament

EnglishPrimrose

Sep 28, 2013
Visit site
Hey all and thank you for reading. This is my first time ever posting on a forum; forgive my maladroitness in the gracious art of forum discourse. As suggested by my username, I am from England and I have always (since the initial announcement) been interested in the 'Surface' line of products.

Now I have entered my first year of University, I am in need of a device which fulfils my needs: let's delve deeper.

I have systematically ruled out alternative devices and sifted my personal computer options down to two products; Surface 2 or Surface Pro 2.
In England if you are a University student, the government assists/subsidises many living expenses, more so than in America for example. The most relevant to this thread is the 'Student Discount' given for technology. Apple offers around 15-20% discount on 1 computer and 1 tablet a year and a bucket load of amazing offers (this is mentioned in context of their deplorable prices for arguably 'under-specced' products). My immediate family is fully integrated into the Apple ecosystem: from my little brother (aged 9) who received an iPhone 4 and getting an iPad 5 later on this year to my Father recently purchasing the horrendous Apple TV. But I do not like Apple of course, and I want to intergrate into an ecosystem which I personally prefer: hey ho, that is Windows!

I am exceptionally picky about branding and 'synergy' of products. If I am to own a MacBook Air for example, I will have to buy all Apple products and to be perfectly honest I hate having products which are the same as everyone else.
I have also looked at OEMs products built on Windows 8.1 and they are absolute bollocks. I do not discount the profound capabilities of SOME products from OEMs but I just...do not like them. I say thank you to a bad experience with Android and Samsung's God-awful TouchWiz which trolled my life and was a burden to my existence for two years.