Help me make a spec ad for MS/Surface 2

longcipher

Nov 8, 2011
Visit site
I'd like to shoot a spec commercial for the new Surface 2 and am wondering if any of you have any desire in seeing it or helping me work up the concept. I shoot commercials for a living and am, obviously, a fan of Windows Phone and Surface. A spec ad is basically a "fan-made" ad for a product or brand. My hope is that MS would see it and copy it and sell some more products! =)

The kernel of my idea is based on an interaction I recently had with an Apple ******. I was using my Lenovo Yoga 11S and it was the first time he'd ever seen Windows 8 (he'd only read about all of the negatives). I shot some video of his company -- popped out the SD card -- folded the Yoga into tablet mode (which really piqued his curiosity) and started showing him some footage. Pretty quickly he began asking me about Windows 8, and over the course of 20 minutes he grudgingly fell in love with the OS. He agreed with my sentiment that if the Yoga or Surface had an Apple on the back, people would be falling over themselves with praise.

So my idea for this ad -- and here is where you can all help --- the message is: If this were an Apple product, you'd love it, so give it a chance. I know it sounds desperate, but the ad should be funny and playful. MS has proven they have a sense of humor when they released the "Browser You Love to Hate" ads, which were brilliant -- this just amps it up to say, "look, we know the Microsoft was uncool, but we've changed -- check us out. We're out-Appleing Apple."

So let's kick around ideas -- I have the gear, talent and crew to make something that looks like anything you'd see on TV. Who's in?

SwimSwim

Feb 1, 2013
Visit site
Huh, your whole thing about an Apple logo got me thinking...