Surface RT + $199 (Black Friday Deal)= Worth it?

GiftedSoul

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
So I'm new to the Microsoft Community (just moved from Nexus 4 to Lumia 920 and LOVE IT!!). I was looking around in my local Best Buy store and came across the Surface line of Tablets offered by Microsoft; to be honest I used to scoff at the idea of a pure Windows tablet as it wasn't as user friendly or down right appealing as the iPad. Windows Phone and Windows 8 completely changed my idea of an all Windows tablet and I'm looking to adopt more into the ecosystem. This brings me to my question (as you saw in the thread title). Best Buy and Microsoft as you may well know plan to offer the Surface RT for $199 without the Cover, and I wanted to know if it was worth purchasing (I know the Surface 2 is out, but for $499, it's just out of the question). I'm not really concerned about specs too much as long as it can open and close apps without too much of an issue; Apps aren't that big of a deal for me as I only use Facebook, Twitter, AllRecipes, Nook or Kindle, check some tech news via The Verge, TechnoBuffalo and Cnet, and go to Amazon and JackThreads every now and then. I'm coming from an iPad 2 and I'm not particularly excited about getting another "thinner, lighter, hey guys it Twitter refreshes 2 seconds faster woo hoo" tablet that really hasn't changed much outside of iOS look and feel. So just to give a basic set of questions to make my point, how does the Surface RT (outside of App Selection) compare to the iPad 2 and is it worth making the switch on Black Friday for a $199 pricetag? Thanks in Advance!

wpoblation

Oct 29, 2012
Visit site
Well, the big pluses in the Surface RTs corner are: lots of ports (full USB, microSD, HD video), a browser that supports Flash, MS Office being included, better multi-tasking and multi-user support. But you don't seem to be looking at those either as pluses for your needs.