Stuck pixel on my Surface 2.

Nickkk101

Apr 12, 2012
Visit site
hi there,

I want to report an issue with a stuck red pixel on a 3wk old Surface 2. I've never had this issue on a device before, and I'm pretty annoyed its appeared on a device of this calibre! Noticed it just under 24 hrs ago when using any IE window (metro or desktop) that has a black background. It is in the lower left hand region of the screen-and is apparent when loading the address bar from the bottom in metro IE. any solutions out there?!! Will it resolve itself or is this another warranty job? I'm new to touch devices of this type by the way.

this comes immediately after a broken charger that has just been replaced free of charge via an online MS surface support rep.

two quality control issues in under 4 weeks for a device costing this much....

any help appreciated!!!

Nick.

Gergolos

Apr 2, 2012
Visit site
Hey there, no worries! :)

That is not (!) a dead pixel. At least if you have the same issue I had a few times before (and others as well. just search for something similar here in the forums).

I had the exact same "problem" on my Surface 2. The funny thing was: I had my external monitor connected to my Surface. So the "dead pixel" appeared on my external monitor. I was a bit suprised, but remembered the one thread having the same subject I had read before. So I tried to move the browser a bit and also put it on my Surface's screen: the dead pixel stayed at the same (relative) place. So changeg the screen :) As far as I can guess: just a software problem. So a bug. Or one could call it a software related stuck pixel. You could of course check the screenshot-method. So if your dead pixel moves with the screenshot it is, of course, not a dead pixel.

Here is a thread dealing with this "problem" I found after using the search-option here:
http://forums.windowscentral.com/mi...250096-bright-pixel-when-using-modern-ie.html

Greetz