Surface 2 for Photographers

Charis Tsil

Nov 19, 2014
Visit site
hello people,

Today I received a surface 2 tablet with windows RT. Since im a Photographer i would like to ask what things you recommend to do. What apps you think are best for professional photography. Is any fellow photographer that uses a surface 2 device on his Workflow? I'm really looking forward to build a light photography workflow on my Surface 2.

Cheers

blue1k

Sep 8, 2013
Visit site
I use Photoshop CC but I'm using a Pro. My usual workflow is an import, basic edits, color balance, noise reduction with imagenomic plugin, sharpening, and export.

For RT I would recommend using PS Express app, and Fotor. Both can handle some basic edits and ability to apply filters. Fotor has a higher quality jpeg output both in terms of size and minimized compression levels.

For DNG files there isn't much except for Rawer which is very rudimentary when compared to Adobe Camera Raw or Raw apps on Android.

Ruined

May 24, 2011
Visit site
Surface 2 to be honest is a difficult pick for a photographer. It does not have an x86 processor so full version of adobe lightroom is incompatible and it does not have a full size SD slot either.

If you are still within the return period you are probably better off with one of the new Dell Inspiron 13 7000 series. A 2-in-1 around the same price but better for photos.

etphoto

Aug 15, 2007
Visit site
Why would anyone use a Surface 2 within a workflow, or any tablet for that matter? Not with the volume of images I process. I use mine (Surface 2) to run my business (show images, emails, calendar, type contracts using word, and keep track of expenses using excel) but use it within my workflow, nope.

Sent from my using Tapatalk

onlysublime

Jun 24, 2013
Visit site
You don't have the Adobe suite of software which is the negative.