Help with s3 battery

NeO_Sk8eR

Mar 10, 2015
Visit site
Hey Guys,
Just got a brand new surface 3 and the battery is abysmal. I take it off charge, just browse the web using edge and it drops 5% in 10 mins. When im reading a page its fine but when loading a new on the CPU jumps to about 60-70% for a while then drops again. This is the same no matter what browser I use. Is this normal or do I have a faulty unit?

michail71

Nov 29, 2012
Visit site
Are you on 8.1 or 10? Windows 10 had some issues that were just fixed today.

I'm new to the S3 as well and have found the 10 hour of battery claim to have not been true yet. But this is my first day with the Windows 10 upgraded display driver. Most of my problems have been with the keyboard cover closed.

NeO_Sk8eR

Mar 10, 2015
Visit site
im on 10, just got it so never tried 8.1 updated straight to 10.
I dont see any driver updates but it says im fully up to date so i guess I have it but the issue persists

michail71

Nov 29, 2012
Visit site
Well, today I left home at 100% with the cover closed. I even manually put it in sleep mode. I used it for about 30 minutes to take notes and monitor messages during a meting. I looked at my battery icon and was startled it was at 48% and had an estimated 2 hours of usage left. My screen brightness was even set low.

I think I used my 1520 more than the surface 3 today and it's at 77%.

So far I've seen nothing close to 10 hours of usage. Seems more like 3 hours.

But at this rate I'll have to get a charger for the office.

Bataar

Feb 2, 2012
Visit site
Anyone else have issues charging the battery since Windows 10? I have a micro USB cable that I use to charge my phone and it worked with the Surface 3 previously when running Windows 8.1. Now, when I connect it to the Surface 3, the icon will change to look like it's charging, but if you tap the battery icon in the systray, the window that opens says "not charging". Do we now need a specific cable to charge the battery?

kabir cheema