Treat the SP2 like a computer?

MrTofu

Oct 27, 2012
Visit site
So I'm new to the fascination with the surface products. I had. A question regarding the SP2. If this is running a full version of windows, does this mean that one should/needs to install security programs like Norton or McAfee on it? And if this is the case, wouldn't it quickly fill up the hard drive space, causing it to eventually perform slower as updates pile up?
I'm really interested in this product and am thinking of replacing my little netbook with it but would hate for its performance to become mediocre over just a few years. Thanks for any info!

TheJoester09

Mar 16, 2012
Visit site
I have the original Surface Pro and yes, I would recommend some type of anti-virus (definitely not Norton or McAfee though), but I don't think you need to worry about storage or performance issues. Mine has definitely held up over time. These things are head and shoulders above those old netbooks, so if that's what you're used to you'll be blown away.

Reflexx

Dec 30, 2010
Visit site
So I'm new to the fascination with the surface products. I had. A question regarding the SP2. If this is running a full version of windows, does this mean that one should/needs to install security programs like Norton or McAfee on it? And if this is the case, wouldn't it quickly fill up the hard drive space, causing it to eventually perform slower as updates pile up?
I'm really interested in this product and am thinking of replacing my little netbook with it but would hate for its performance to become mediocre over just a few years. Thanks for any info!

The Surface 2 Pro IS a computer.

I personally don't have a separate antivirus on my Surface Pro. I rely on good and safe habits combined with the default Security Essentials.

I'd recommend getting as much storage space as you can. Also, don't go installing everything under the son.