4RAM 128gb vs. 8RAM 256gb, Which do you prefer and why?

jojoe42

Sep 13, 2013
Visit site
Hey guys I'm looking at buying the Pro 2 as a device for school next year - ideally the cheaper the better because I'd have to buy office on top of that so I'm looking at 128GB/4GB or 256GB/8GB....however I'm not sure that 4GB is enough - I'm a design student so I'd be using the Adobe CS6 Master Collection on the Surface Pro 2. I currently run a desktop on a first-gen i5 w/ 4GB of RAM and on idle it's using 2GB out of 3.5GB (32-bit OS) anyone have any suggestions? Cheers

username55

Nov 15, 2013
Visit site
I have the 256 GB model and it runs adobe cc products without any slowdowns so far. Everything super snappy. Plus Maya and zbrush. Although Maya can stumble in poly edit mode for some reason I think its graphic related

PandaSPUR

Nov 12, 2013
Visit site
Hey guys I'm looking at buying the Pro 2 as a device for school next year - ideally the cheaper the better because I'd have to buy office on top of that so I'm looking at 128GB/4GB or 256GB/8GB....however I'm not sure that 4GB is enough - I'm a design student so I'd be using the Adobe CS6 Master Collection on the Surface Pro 2. I currently run a desktop on a first-gen i5 w/ 4GB of RAM and on idle it's using 2GB out of 3.5GB (32-bit OS) anyone have any suggestions? Cheers

Just a quick note, you can get the full Office 2013 Pro suite for $10: Microsoft Home Use Program - Microsoft Office Professional Plus 2013. The software suite includes Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, Publisher, Access and more!

PandaSPUR

Nov 12, 2013
Visit site
Yeah but what's this about a program code or something? Also I think it only applies to those working for a business and I'm still at school....

Yea its a bit odd, but for me and my friends, we were able to just click the link that says "Don't Know Your Program Code? Click Here."
Then we enter our university email address (____@nyu.edu for example, was mine), and it worked.
So give that a try.