Surface pro 2 docking station vs ?????

MDBulldog

Oct 1, 2013
Visit site
I am a total newb when it comes to evaluation docking stations as I have always had a desktop at home and had never needed to add peripherals past what was available on my desk top. I recently receive my surface pro 2 and would like it to become my desktop replacement. That being said, I see that Microsoft has released their docking station for the pro/pro 2 for a little under $200. Surprisingly I could not find to much info on it. When comparing it to the Toshiba Dyna dock. It seems as if the Toshiba comes with more ports ( 4 USB 3.0, 2 USB 2.0) has the ability to play audio in 5.1 surround sound (dont know if this is a feature of the surface docking station) and a hdmi port (plus it is cheaper). Where as the surface docking station may have the upper hand when it comes to screen resolution (3,840 x 2,160 ) and the fact that it is also a charging station. So here is my question. What are your overall impressions of it? How do you think it compares to other docking solutions?
Thanks for the advice.

csiguy1

Mar 20, 2012
Visit site
Just got a email from MS announcing the the Docking Station is available to order. I just ordered mine from the Microsoft Store.

MDBulldog

Oct 1, 2013
Visit site
Just got a email from MS announcing the the Docking Station is available to order. I just ordered mine from the Microsoft Store.

Yeah, I noticed your post after I posted mine (I could of just ask the question on your post). If u would not mind, I assume that you got the dock so you can use your surface pro as a desk top replacement. If so, what lead you to the decision to choose the surface dock over the Toshiba,plugable, (etc).
I am also unfamiliar with the display port operations. Do you need special monitors to be able to daisy chain more than 1?
Thanks.

hcrick

Jul 24, 2013
Visit site