Just got the Surface Pro 2 256 gb and now reading about Surface Pro 3

rchillin

Nov 10, 2011
Visit site
I'm telling you now, take it back and pre-order the Pro 3. I'm a Surface Pro owner bought when it first came out and while I love it, the Pro 3 fixes a lot of issues I have with my Pro. I found myself wanting to use my pro in portrait more often; commutes on the train or lying in bed, but is really awkward because its top heavy and elongated. The kickstand being able to go from 22 - 150 degrees I can't tell you how beneficial that will be in real-world use. Then there's the speakers which aren't front facing so I find myself using my hands to cup the speakers in order to hear better which they've addressed in Pro 3.

MCube74

Jan 12, 2013
Visit site
As tempting as it may be to get the Pro 3, I think it will be better to wait for the next Surface Pro with new CPU and GPU and possibly new Windows.

It will not be too long until it releases.

erasure25

Jan 24, 2011
Visit site
I feel ya, but I think the SP2 has value. The SP3 has no place to store the pen other than a fairly ugly loop attached by a sticky to the type cover. It does not have a dedicated spot to magnetically connect the pen. I find the widescreen format of the SP2 to be good for giving you ample space to lay your palm while writing. I think the format of the SP3 will make this a little more difficult (your palm will often be resting off the screen when writing on the right hand side of "pages" which makes for uneven writing). The processor will be an upgraded version (maybe a 4400 Haswell vs. the 4300 Haswell in the SP2), but I don't think drastically so. The Intel Broadwell processors are slated to be out for the holidays, so there could be yet another upgraded Surface Pro late this year/early next year. While the SP3 reportedly has no lag or parallax in the pen input (compared to the slight lag and parallax in the Pro 2) I am ok with how the Pro 2 pen currently functions.