New Surface pen worth it?

bulls96

Jun 25, 2007
Visit site
So I lost my original Surface pen from my sp4. Haven't totally ruled out upgrading to a new Surface pro.

Is the new Surface pen worth the difference?

I'm no artist so the tilt doesn't do anything for me except that its cool.

onlysublime

Jun 24, 2013
Visit site
I still don't have the new pen because it's not yet available in burgundy... :(

If the original pen didn't bother you, might as well buy it again because it's much cheaper. The new pen is $99. And you have to get the new Surface Pro 2017 to take full advantage of it. With the SP4, latency will improve after a firmware update (though no ETA for that update). But the latency still will not be as good as the new SP even after the firmware update. Tilt will also come with that firmware update if that update ever comes. It's unsure about whether the SP4 will get the increased pressure sensitivity that is on the new SP.

convergent

May 20, 2017
Visit site
So I lost my original Surface pen from my sp4. Haven't totally ruled out upgrading to a new Surface pro.

The latency of the new pen is lower, so it is a smoother inking experience. Whether its worth it is a personal choice. I went with the one and just bought silver since it is attached to the silver part of the nSP when stored.

bulls96

Jun 25, 2007
Visit site
The latency of the new pen is lower, so it is a smoother inking experience. Whether its worth it is a personal choice. I went with the one and just bought silver since it is attached to the silver part of the nSP when stored.

Is the latency lower even when used on a SP4?

real0395

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
I thought there was going to be some kind of firmware update for the SP4 that would let users take advantage of the new pen features, but I can't remember if that includes the lower latency.