Surface Pro 3 already at some Microsoft Stores, thoughts

kevinn206

Nov 19, 2012
Visit site
....I only had two minor concerns. One, I couldn't get the virtual keyboard to appear in the Modern version of Internet Explorer (and other Modern apps) no matter what I did. Mind you, I have very little experience with Windows 8, so maybe I'm missing some kind of trick to it? Or is this just a bug?

My other concern was that the pen seemed to disconnect on me randomly at one point. I had to hit the top button to trigger OneNote to get it working again - perhaps there's some issue maintaining connectivity that needs patching? I think I've heard of this issue in one of the reviews I've read, so I'd hope that Microsoft is aware of it...
I think it's a bug. The keyboard didn't appear either on the two demo units that I tried. Also, the screen rotation didn't work either on one unit. A restart solved both problems. Those two issues left a poor impression even though the device after the restart was really good. I hope they fix it before releasing to the public.

smoledman

Banned
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
You know the whole thin & light thing is overrated. Just do a little experiment. Hold out your arm holding nothing and see how long before fatigue sets in. So it doesn't matter how thin & light even an iPad Mini is, nobody holds them out. Everyone holds a tablet in their lap or sits it on a table/bed.

Jas00555

Retired Ambassador
Jun 8, 2013
Visit site
You know the whole thin & light thing is overrated. Just do a little experiment. Hold out your arm holding nothing and see how long before fatigue sets in. So it doesn't matter how thin & light even an iPad Mini is, nobody holds them out. Everyone holds a tablet in their lap or sits it on a table/bed.

The "sitting on lap" thing would really only mitigate the light argument. Being thin is still a big plus. IMO, the previous Surface tablets were too thick.

MikeSo

Dec 31, 2012
Visit site