Help Me Justify a SP3

yeoldgreat1

May 9, 2013
Visit site
I work as a Tech Support Engineer for a CCTV Transmission company. The things we manufacture are converters for Analogue Video/Data and Ethernet over fibre optic cable equipment or over wireless.

As well as providing tech support to customers, as part of my job I have to create datasheets using InDesign, use Photoshop to modify product pictures for the datasheets, modify the website, etc. I also have to visit customers on site for fault-finding work or site surveys.

My boss said that if there are any courses then let him know and he'll look at putting me forward for them. As well as sending him a list of ones that might help, I added a cheeky note at the bottom saying that maybe a Surface Pro 3 would help me to do datasheets and other things.

He wasn't against the idea but said it would be hard to justify a tablet over a laptop, if I could come up with reasons then he would be willing to fight my corner with his bosses. At the moment, I've been passed down a HP laptop for field work/times I work from home. It's a HP G61-410SA (1.9GHz Celeron, 3Gb DDR2 RAM, 320Gb HDD). Supposedly it was quite a highly spec'd laptop when it was bought and is still newer than other sales people's laptops, however it is often pinched for training and equipment testing.

So that's why I've come to you guys, I need help coming up with some reasons as to why it would be beneficial. This is what I've come up with so far:

• Photoshop and InDesign are easier on a tablet with the pen rather than a mouse.
  • Site surveys for wireless equipment would be easier, I could get out a tablet for tests outdoors rather than a laptop which isn't easy to see outdoors. (Can USB to Ethernet converters work with the SP3 rather than waiting for the dock to be released?)
  • Higher specs will last a long time.

Any other reasons would be greatly appreciated :grin:

Adam_ation

Jul 24, 2014
Visit site
Just buy one, It will justify itself.