Which Surface Pro 3 model I should buy on Black Friday?

Ryou-kun

Nov 14, 2014
Visit site
I am a community college student trying to finish my basic while pursing my career for Computer Science/Software Engineer.
Few months ago, I bought an iPad Air and Adnoit Jot Touch Pro and GoodNote 4 App. I was using it to take handwritten notes because I don't want to carry ton of papers or spirals with me and want to carry less and be mobile, however, I made a big mistake on buying iPad Air and third party stylus and app. The stylus and app always get into conflict with each other. It gets annoying and frustrating.
Now, the reason I went for iPad Air is because iPad is pretty good at conserving battery when at sleep mode.

Fast forward today, Black Friday is right around the corner, and I know my dad need a tablet so I thought I could give him my iPad Air and buy a note taking tablet. I was considering Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1/Pro 12.2, but I realize it isn't worth due to 16:9/16:10 ratio that is so awkward to write in portrait mode. I also want the best out of a handwritten note taking tablet then I came into conclusion of Surface Pro 3.
I could jump with Surface Pro 1 w/ Power Cover but the weight will bother me a lot, so I drop that idea and skip Surface Pro 2 and went for Surface Pro 3.
However, I can't decide on the Surface Pro 3 model from its base model (i3/4GB/64GB) to i5/8GB/256GB SSD, the i7 is useless because it is dual core rather quad core.

Which Surface Pro 3 model I should choose: i3/4GB/64GB, i5/4GB/128GB or i5/8GB/256GB SSD?
I will be buying it from either Best Buy with its up to $150 dollar off on i5/4GB/128GB or higher or Microsoft Website with its Education Discount.