Get a Surface Pro 3 or wait?

AaHaa

Oct 15, 2012
Visit site
So, I could get a Surface Pro 3 in a few weeks. I'm a game artist, so it's the ideal machine for me. It's a lot cheaper than at launch and I hope the thing has matured a bit in terms of software and diver support, but still, in case I missed some news or rumours: should I wait for a Surface Pro 4? Why (not)?

Jazmac

Jun 20, 2011
Visit site
That's always the million dollar question but what would you be waiting for in a Surface 4? Thinner? Faster? Cheaper? Windows X? Those are usually the reasons to wait but the Surface 3 is fantastic in itself IMHO. Weather a i7 processor is enough for game development I assume is up to the developer. But for sheer processing power, I can't see why you need to wait.

markusbeutel

Jan 1, 2015
Visit site
That's always the million dollar question but what would you be waiting for in a Surface 4? Thinner? Faster? Cheaper? Windows X? Those are usually the reasons to wait but the Surface 3 is fantastic in itself IMHO. Weather a i7 processor is enough for game development I assume is up to the developer. But for sheer processing power, I can't see why you need to wait.

Better battery life probably the main reason to wait - and fanless is a nice possibility too I suppose. The SP3 can't really compare to the best ultra portables when it comes to battery life without dimming the screen to 50% or less. Also, there's a lot of laptop options out there now with better specs, better battery life, better screen - not quite as portable I suppose, but pretty close, and with far superior keyboards (the new Carbon, XPS 13, Helix 2, Venue 11 Pro, etc). Personally, I'm waiting at this point for the SP4 to regain the lead on these newcomers.

CliveSinclair

Oct 14, 2014
Visit site