Hey guys, I am a first-year college student and I'm looking for a new laptop as my old laptop is almost 8 years and starting to slow down. I'm interested in both the Surface Pro 3 and Razer Blade 14". I need a powerhouse device so if it comes down to the surface, I'll get the i7 as I edit videos, and my major in school it's Computer Science. Both have the right firm factor for portability, with their weight and size and both are very powerful machines. I don't really PC game (I play freemium shooters occasionaly like Combat Arms) but I do game heavily on my Xbox one. I am also a Microsoft enthusiast; I own the Band, Zune HD, Lumia 1520, 360, and the original Xbox and of course a PC (no apple products ) which do you guys say is a better option? I'm currently saving up for one btw
    Last edited by Killer BIGxyz; 02-17-2015 at 07:17 PM.
    02-17-2015 06:48 PM
    Both laptops are powerful enough to do what you want to do, but the razer blade is much faster and has a bigger, more productive screen. The disadvantages of the razer blade are that it has a few hours less battery life, and will get even less compared to the surface under heavy usage, it does not have a pen, which could be useful, and the higher portability. The Surface Pro 3 is not a good laptop to get right now because most likely the Surface Pro 4 will be out soon. I recommend you get the Dell XPS 13, which is a full sized laptop smaller than the surface pro 3, and with the newer broadwell processors.
    Killer BIGxyz likes this.
    02-17-2015 07:21 PM
    thanks for the suggestion! I'd rather not get the XPS because ive had problems in the past with dell and don't want to go back there, but do you think I should really wait for the surface 4? I kinda need a laptop right now and don't really care for the latest in processors, as the surface pro 3 has plenty of power with the i7. I currently using a i3 processor.
    02-17-2015 07:39 PM