Surface Pro i5/128GB for basic photo editing

kenjancef

Dec 2, 2014
Visit site
Thinking of taking the plunge and getting a Surface Pro 3, the i5/128GB model. I am a sports photographer, and one of the main usage scenarios for me would be taking the Surface on-site, uploading jpegs of the game I'm shooting, and doing VERY quick editing of the pics in Lightroom 5. I would just do quick edits with exposure and cropping, then email the pics to the AD on site. I would assume even with 4GB RAM I could still do quick edits and not be bogged down too much.

Thoughts?

Qtweeder

Jul 19, 2013
Visit site
well considering i have the i3/64gb base model and have full photoshop and illustrator in it and am constantly doing photo manips/editing, and its strolls along fine, admittedly am not a heavy PS user, but am getting away with what sounds more than you are mentioning for editing tasks, so can only presume that i5 will make it even faster

zei20t

Aug 6, 2014
Visit site
with photo editing RAM is your friend. get the 256GB model with 8GB RAM. you wont regret it. the lightroom database is quite intensive, but with the SSD youll be fine.

lightroom is generally pretty good on ram, but I only use it on my i7 desktop with 16GB of RAM, so I don't notice it too much, except when I open PS and start processing a panorama, it starts to chug along

m3tv

Nov 19, 2013
Visit site
I have the i5/128/4gb RAM model of the SP2 and I do constant PhotoShop and Illustrator editing and its holding up pretty well

kenjancef

Dec 2, 2014
Visit site
Thanks for the replies. Here is what I want to do: I shoot college hockey, and I shoot RAW and JPG (JPG for editing on site, RAW for editing at home). So as I shoot, and a goal is scored, I run up to the press box, upload my shots, pick 1 or 2 pics of the goal, crop and/or adjust exposure, export, then email to the AD for posting on their web site.