Getting a Surface 3 and undecided about Win 10 on it.

michail71

Nov 29, 2012
Visit site
I'm going to get the Surface 3 from AT&T and I've been reading through some of these threads and I've been using Windows 10 for several months. However, I'm not so sure I want to upgrade the Surface to Win 10.

When I handle them in the store Windows 8.1 just feels so natural on them. When I use tablet mode in the RTM it just doesn't seem like it would be as good. Granted, I'm not using a touch interface. So it's hard to tell for sure.

Also, the OneDrive placeholders would be a big issue for me as I have a larger OneDrive than the Surface 3 has storage. At least the Photo app connects to OneDrive. That would help some.

So, does anyone here prefer Win 10 over 8.1 on the Surface?

illegaloperation

Nov 18, 2010
Visit site
It doesn't matter if you like Windows 10 or not. Soon, there will be many Windows 10 universal apps on the Windows Store and Windows 8.1 won't be able to run them hence the reason to upgrade.

rory753

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
I've been going back and forth on this issue. I use a surface 3 for work, so I don't want any buggy issues with it, but i have an asus vivotab note 8 for trying win10 out. i have build 10240 on the asus, and what i notice is yes, it's definitely different, but i'm liking some things better. windows 10 in tablet mode has evolved very nicely over the past few month to become something similar to win8.1. What i do like is being able to go into desktop mode easier, which is something i'd never thought i'd say with win 8.1. now, i've notice that i'm looking for things on my surface 3 when i switch back from the asus. I think this is a sign that i'll probably switch to win10 when it comes out.

michail71

Nov 29, 2012
Visit site