Hesitating between Surface Book and Surface Pro 4?

Jneb

Sep 30, 2015
Visit site
Hesitating between Surface Book and Surface Pro 4

Hi,

I'm a french Illustrator/Concept Artist who want to drawing and painting on Surface.
I'm hesitating between SB and SP4. MAX BUDGET : 2000 $

Surface Book has Largest and Better Screen and i'm crazy about its design <3 ? but what's the real difference ? i think dGPU is better for Powerful Software like Maya, Avid Pro, is it really necessary for 2D software like photoshop ?

But SP4 has a kickstand and is more mobile, i can draw in photoshop and use simply the keyboard for shortcuts. SP4 i7 16gb Ram is enough to run Photoshop, Sketchbook ?

I need your advices please :) ( in France only the SP4 is in preorder. not the surface book maybe for january february ? )

henocksandy

Jan 26, 2014
Visit site
Re: Hesitating between Surface Book and Surface Pro 4

Surface Pro 4 might be better for you. The kickstand and that keyboard is a lot better for Artists. But if u want more GPU, u should go for Surface Book, but i don't think its much use to you if you don't have the NVIDIA graphics which might be more expensive.

Jneb

Sep 30, 2015
Visit site

Thanks Henocksandy :) your answer is exactly what i wanted :) but SP4 has a largest screen than SP3 ? have a nice day.

StevoPhilo

Oct 7, 2013
Visit site

Thanks Henocksandy :) your answer is exactly what i wanted :) but SP4 has a largest screen than SP3 ? have a nice day.

It is a slightly larger screen mainly due to the smaller bezels they put on the newer SP4.

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site

I'm going to disagree with the above recommendations.

Video editing with packages like Adobe Premiere or After Effects benefit greatly from a dGPU. If you do any kind of video editing at all, the SP4 is not a valid option.