Surface Pro 4 I7 8gb, Or I5 16gb

pippyo03

May 14, 2012
Visit site
I'm trying to decide on which surface pro 4 to get. For the same price I can get a surface with I7 with 8gb of ram, or an I5 16gb of ram. So I'm trying to decided whether I need the higher I7 processor or the extra 16gb of ram.

I'm a future engineering student which might have to run some cad programs.
I run adobe Photoshop for my photography hobby.
And the usual stuff like web browsing, office, email, and streaming video. (Which consume most of my time on the computer.)
And I'm a pretty heavy multitasker and love running a bunch of apps at once.

I currently own a surface pro 2, I5 with 4 gb of ram. I'm fairly happy with the performance on the pro 2 and I know that an upgrade to either of the devices will be an improvement. There's some lag here and there and It overheats easily but its a good computer.

I'm torn between the extra ram and the higher processor. For multitasking and cad programs I know the extra ram is important and that's why I'm leaning towards to extra ram version but I'm unsure if I will see more of a performance boost from the extra ram, or the I7 processor. What are yalls thoughts on which one I should get?

stevesu

Aug 1, 2011
Visit site
I would get the i7. I have the SP3 i7/8GB and have never had an issue with resources or performance. You might find the CAD program to be more PROC intensive (but research this first).

Talldog

Mar 7, 2013
Visit site