I'm a web developer: Which model should I get?

Fynbo

Nov 4, 2015
Visit site
Hi,

Automatically I had already decided on getting the i5 256 8GB model, but then I thought: 'Do I really need it?'.

I work as a web developer and am currently using a MacBook Air 13" from 2013 with 4GB RAM and Intel HD Graphics 5000. In the office this is plugged in to a single Apple screen with a very high resolution. It's sometimes strugling a bit (but just a bit), and because of this and the fact that I'm really a Windows guy at heart, I'd like to get a SP4.

I need to be able to do the following on my device:

- Use Sublime Text 2 / PHPStorm
- Use Filezilla
- Use Photoshop for light use (basically just making some images have a transparent background, mostly)
- Have several browsers open at once with many tabs
- Use a mail program
- Have it connected to a single (or perhaps more in the future) high res screens

Which model of the Surface Pro 4 do you suggest for me? Storage space isn't really a problem for me. I get by just fine with my current 128 GBs in conjunction with Dropbox.

Also, one of the main reasons for me considering the SP4 is the pen. I often need to design web sites or write down ideas, and I'd love to be able to do a quick screenshot by pressing the pen and then drawing/writing with the pen in OneNote.

GatsbyGlen

Oct 29, 2015
Visit site
I wouldn't go M3 for work like that, but that's just me. PHPStorm isn't really light on memory consumption. I think you would want at least 8GB of RAM to start.

It sounds like this would be plugged in most of the time? I would get the dock too. As for SDD, there is some chatter that the 128 is slower than the 256 that is released, based on benchmarks. Whether or not you would actually perceive this while using it is a different story.

badMojo69

Apr 24, 2012
Visit site