i7 8GB Dedicated Photoshop machine & photoshop lag

TabletBuyer2

Nov 18, 2015
Visit site
Hello All,

I have been browsing these threads daily for over a month and decided it was time to sign in.

I am considering the i7 8GB model for a dedicated photoshop device...
I already have a MBA which I use for media consumption.

Many of the threads I have seen focus on photoshop with chrome tabs,social media etc open at the same time. My preferred use would be to work on one large format (300ppi 3'x9') photoshop project at a time, with no other programs open. In regards to layers... I'm not quite sure how many because I am new to photoshop.... let's assume 50 layers?

To summarize, with no other programs open beside photoshop, do you think I would still run into ram issues with the 8gb?

Also, i have seen a few reviews showing severe photoshop lag when painting at full pen pressure. has anyone else see this issue?

Thank you very much

TabletBuyer2

Nov 18, 2015
Visit site
Haha. I thought you might ask. It is for large print media. I want to create banner art that can be viewed close up. I have done it with traditional media and I want to have the ability to do it in photoshop. I would likely start with 3'?'3' in the beginning

BaritoneGuy

Jun 20, 2012
Visit site
I suspect it should run just fine as it has all the latest versions of the hardware. I say try it and if it doesn't work out you have 30 days to return it.

TabletBuyer2

Nov 18, 2015
Visit site
Thanks for the Input. I suspect it might take me longer than 30 days to create my finished project. However maybe if I just did a test with 50 layers flooded with random paint colors that should be a good test.

onlysublime

Jun 24, 2013
Visit site