Decision Time

CryptDevelopment

Dec 18, 2015
Visit site
So as a developer I work with my laptop a lot and more preferably my desktop. But recently I have been looking for something more. Something smaller, powerful, and comfortable. Right now I have been looking around at different laptops but what really stuck out to me was the Surface Pro 4. I am about to go out and get it but I just would like to get a point of view from any developers preferably or any owners of the Surface Pro 4 if it is a wise idea to buy it now? Help please? Thanks in advanced. Regards -Blake (btw I love the idea of a tablet that can replace your laptop)

brianbrain

Oct 29, 2012
Visit site
Blake,

The first thing I'd do is ensure that the form factor is going to be your thing.

What percentage of the time do you think you'd be using the SP4 as a laptop? What percentage of the time as a tablet?

If 75% or more of your time will be in laptop mode, then I'd take another look at the Surface Book.

As far as stability is concerned, the SP4 was a wreck on release, but is pretty solid as of today. There are still some lingering issues pertaining to the mess that is connected standby, but everything else has been patched up nicely (speaking as an i7/16/256 owner). If you want a truly issue-free device, then I'd advise waiting until February, given the current rate of bug fixes. If you can put up with some wake from sleep and battery life issues in the mean time, then by all means, go for it.

jbaylon

May 22, 2014
Visit site