How do I use 3 monitors with the Surface Pro 4?

bbarth

Dec 12, 2013
Visit site
I need to be able to run 3 monitors with my Surface Pro 4 i7/16/512. I have the docking station but need to know what kind of adapter I will need to make this work. Do I need active/passive, external video card? I'm just not sure what I need to do.

Monitors:
2x-Dell U2212HM
1x-Asus MX279

Thanks for the help!

bbarth

Dec 12, 2013
Visit site
Awesome, thank you!

Will this method still allow me to have three separate screens (meaning no duplicates), sorry I'm new to daisy chaining. So just to make sure the 2 mini display ports on the surface dock will work if I daisy chain the two Dell monitors together, and then use the other mini display port for my Asus monitor, is that correct?

Then in the Note 2: it says the computer mother board or video card must have a DisplayPort 1.2 output with MST, so does the Surface Pro 4 support this. I can't find anything on that.

Thanks again.

bbarth

Dec 12, 2013
Visit site
Do you know if something like this would work?

Sorry I don't have enough posts to put in a link, so here are some screen shots.

Pluggable.PNGstartech.PNG

zkyevolved

Nov 7, 2014
Visit site
I don't think that would work to connect multiple displays. You could use it to connect one display and the SP4. I'm no expert. The most I've ever done is connect it to an external monitor or a projector

djncanada1

Oct 12, 2010
Visit site
Do you know if something like this would work?

Sorry I don't have enough posts to put in a link, so here are some screen shots.

I have used the Pluggable solution, it should work fine, there is a 4K model, also think the Pluggble may have a video chip.

I have 2X ASUS $ K monitors connected to Surface Pro, have not had need to conenct 3rd monitor yet.

View attachment 120203View attachment 120204

tennisfan#AC

Nov 10, 2014
Visit site