Is the SP4 still worth buying?

Brad Semenick

Apr 4, 2014
Visit site
A few months ago I damaged my MacBook screen which will cost me just shy of $1000 to fix which seems like a bit much for me. I've always been interested in the surface lineup so now seems like a good time to hop on the bandwagon. I'm a student so I don't have​endless money to spend on a laptop (although I wish I did) so I'm wondering if the surface pro 4 is still worth buying now that the new surface pro and surface laptop are out. I use my laptop for web browsing and music, lots of YouTube, a lot of word, Excel and PowerPoint, as well as light video editing. The tablet form factor would be great for taking notes in classes and labs, as I do a lot of math and physics. Any help is much appreciated!

kaktus1389

Feb 7, 2016
Visit site
The 2017 Surface Pro is basically Surface Pro 4 with some changes made to the pen, screen and form factor (most changes are made inside the tablet so you can't really see them) so I'd say you're good to go with Surface Pro 4.

anon(10237065)

May 12, 2017
Visit site
In the end it depends on the price. If you can get a decent discount, then yeah, but if it's just like $100 cheaper, then pay more and get the new Surface Pro. There are only advantages really. But yeah, SP4 was already great enough!

dirtyvu

Dec 23, 2010
Visit site
Get the new surface pro. Skip the pen or buy it later. Buy the older keyboards that came out with the surface pro 4. The battery life alone makes the new surface pro worth it. As great as the surface pro 4 is, the battery life is atrocious. If you actually plan on using the thing for school or work, you need good battery life.

onlysublime

Jun 24, 2013
Visit site
If you are not an artist, you could buy the older Surface Pen ($50-60) which is much cheaper than the new Surface Pen ($99). It'll work on both the Surface Pro 4 and the new Surface Pro.