Docking Station for Surface Pro 2 - why not external GPU option

nasellok

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
So, im on the fence here - I love the device, but I really don't think that the Intel integrated graphics will run my software. Im an architect, and use graphics intense software such as AutoCAD, Revit, Rhinoceros, Sketchup, etc. Im wondering if there are any surface pro owners out there that use it to run that type of software - how does it work? Am I better off keeping my current configuration (desktop computer that I remote access with Surface RT).

That being said - it seems that Microsoft missed on this docking station - they should have an option that includes a external gpu for graphics intense software. Sony offers this........VAIO Z Series Laptop Power Media Dock with CD/DVD Burner | VGP-PRZ20C/B Review | Sony Store (although it seems that its not available anymore)..........either way, it would seem that if surface pro had this available, it would alleviate any concerns with the integrated graphics chipset. This would also allow gaming.....imagine hooking your TV up to the dock as external display, running PC games........who would need an xbox then. wishful thinking for maybe next year...............

hcrick

Jul 24, 2013
Visit site
IMHO that would be an example of the wrong tool for the job. No tablet and/or dock is going to have the proper GPU for CAD. The discontinued Sony dock's weak HD6650M GPU wouldn't cut it for CAD either. Also keep in mind the relatively small SSD size typically found in tablets isn't ideal for CAD and gaming since their program and data files take up a lot of space. I do think we will get there one day though, but for now I'd say keep going the remote route when using a tablet.

martinmc78

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site